The Sidney Prize and Other Awards

Sydney Prize is an esteemed award created to recognize those striving to realize their dreams. Since its introduction, it has become a worldwide symbol of prestige and offers substantial funds that winners can put towards realizing their goals or use to spread scientific knowledge – particularly biology and medicine- among the general public.

The Hillman Foundation’s Sidney Prizes honor journalists who engage in investigative reporting and deep storytelling for public good. Fred Clasen-Kelly, Carol Motsinger and Macon Atkinson earned this month’s Sidney Prize with their investigation of Greenville South Carolina’s urban renewal program and its hidden toll on its Black community; their report sheds light on money, race and betrayal.

The Sydney Prize was established to honour Professor Sidney Cox by providing undergraduates with an essay that meets his rigorous standards of scholarship, and it has since been given for essays ranging from art history, political science and economics. Sophia Jactel won this year with her essay entitled ‘Domesticity and Diversions: Josef Israels’ Smoker as a Symbol of Peasant Culture and Home in Nineteenth-Century Holland.”

Winners are chosen from a shortlist by a panel of academic experts based on originality, integrity and ability to generate debate in each submission. Winners receive both a monetary award and plaque; The Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards recognize how art contributes to Australian society and our sense of national identity; winners are celebrated not only for past accomplishments, but also their potential contribution to Australia’s arts community in future years.

Event Cinemas Rising Talent Award is open to film creatives who have not produced more than five short film credits and comes with a cash prize of $7,000. Screen NSW provides this prize, while Event Cinemas gives its support. Presented by University of Sydney in partnership with Sydney UNESCO City of Film.

This prize was established to commemorate Sidney Edelstein, an esteemed dye historian and founding member of SHOT who worked tirelessly to advance its field. It honors works that have received distinguished scholarship within three years of the date of award.

The Overland Neilma Sidney Prize is an annual literary prize dedicated to exceptional short fiction writing, judged by a panel consisting of former winners. Submissions are judged by a distinguished panel including former winners. This prize aims to celebrate writing as art while encouraging emerging writers, while upholding ethical behavior and objectivity standards by its judges; winners are typically announced by end of September with their work published during October; should judges feel the quality of entries is unsatisfactory then their decision will be final.

By cbacfc
No widgets found. Go to Widget page and add the widget in Offcanvas Sidebar Widget Area.